As the Senate completes its work on the $410 Billion Dollar Omnibus Bill with over 8,000 earmarked projects, it is important to note who the biggest porkers in the Senate are. The list below shows top 20 Senate Omnibus Bill Porkers.

Right on top is Senator Robert Byrd, who when the bill was originally written was chairman of the Appropriations Committee. Other large porkers are Dianne Feinstein of California and Tom Harkin of Iowa. What is particularly disturbing is that 8 of the Top 20 were Republicans, and that Mitch McConnell was so high up on the list.  Come on folks, if we are going to rally people around conservative principals, we need to practice what we preach. More Below:

Byrd tops earmarkers list
Taxpayers for Common Sense, a government spending watchdog, has released its breakdown of the biggest earmarkers.

Not surprisingly, former Appropriations Committee Chairman Robert Byrd (D-W.Va.) tops the list.

take our poll - story continues below

Do you think Cubans are fighting for healthcare or freedom from Communism?

  • Do you think Cubans are fighting for healthcare or freedom from Communism?

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
Completing this poll grants you access to The Lid updates free of charge. You may opt out at anytime. You also agree to this site's Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

Sen. Richard Shelby (R-Ala.), the ranking member of the Finance Committee and the Senate’s highest-profile critic of the bank bailouts, snagged the No. 2 spot, representing one of the nation’s poorest states — and a state where even the smallest tax hikes have to be submitted to a public vote. Missouri Sen. Kit Bond, a senior Republican on the Appropriations Committee’s transportation and housing subcommittee, was the third-largest recipient of earmarks.

Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid (D-Nev.) brought home around $26.6 million — only about half the bacon delivered to Kentucky by Republican leader Mitch McConnell.
Following are the top 20 Senate earmark recipients — 12 Democrats, 8 Republicans.

1. Robert Byrd (D-W.Va.): $122,804,900

2 Richard Shelby (R-Ala.): $114,484,250

3. Kit Bond (R-Mo.): $85,691,491

4. Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.): $76,899,425

5. Thad Cochran (R-Miss.): $75,908,475

6. Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska): $74,000,750

7. Tom Harkin (D-Iowa): $66,860,000

8. James Inhofe (R-Okla.): $53,133,500

9. Mitch McConnell (R-Ky.): $51,186,000

10. Daniel Inouye (D-Hawaii): $46,380,205

11. Patty Murray (D-Wash.): $39,228,250

12. Byron Dorgan (D-N.D.): $36,547,100

13. Pat Leahy (D-Vt.): $36,161,125

14. Dick Durbin (D-Ill.): $35,577,250

15. Robert Casey (D-Pa.): $27,169,750

16. Harry Reid (D-Nev.): $26,628,613

17. Arlen Specter (R-Pa.): $25,320,000

18. Herb Kohl (D-Wis.): $23,832,000

19. Charles Schumer (D-N.Y.): $21,952,250

20. Pete Domenici (R-N.M.), retired: $19,588,625